Saturday, February 25, 2012

[HumJanenge] Former IB chief among 3 new Information Commissioners at CIC

NEW DELHI: The government has shortlisted a former chief of
Intelligence Bureau, a banker and a former bureaucrat as three new
Information Commissioners at the transparency panel CIC.

Former IB Chief Rajiv Mathur, former Environment Secretary Vijai
Sharma and Syndicate Bank Chairman and Managing Director Basant Seth
have been shortlisted as new faces at the Central Information
Commission which is overburdened with over 20,000 pending appeals
under the Right to Information Act, official sources said.

A panel headed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh which included Law
Minister Salman Khurshid and Leader of Opposition Sushma Swaraj
shortlisted the names of these people recently, they said.

According to the RTI Act, the complete strength of the transparency
panel is a Chief Information Commissioner and 10 Central Information
Commissioners. As of now there are just five Information Commissioners
leaving a shortage of five.

A formal announcement on the appointment would be made shortly, they

Mathur, a 1972 batch IPS officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre, has served IB
for nearly three decades including 15 years in Washington. He took
over the reigns of the agency in January 2009, before retiring on
December 31, 2010.

Sharma, a 1974 batch IAS officer, from Uttar Pradesh cadre, was
secretary in Union Environment Ministry before his superannuation in
December 2010.

He held number of positions in the state including State Housing
Secretary, State Environment Secretary and Chairman of State Pollution
Control Board among others.

Seth who is the CMD of Syndicate Bank, Bangalore has held senior
positions in Small Industries Development Bank and Bank of India.

No comments:

Post a Comment